Governance

NZGAP is owned by Horticulture New Zealand on behalf of New Zealand Growers. 

The programme was established over 20 years ago by growers that were committed to enhancing food safety, worker welfare and sustainability practices in the industry. 

NZGAP is overseen by the NZGAP Committee, which is a subcommittee of Horticulture New Zealand.  All HortNZ affiliated product groups and district associations are invited to become Industry Members. Foundation Members are a subset of this group (see below).

Other industry groups and organisations that support the purpose and objectives of NZGAP are invited to become Associate Members.

Current NZGAP Committee

 

Name Position  Email Phone
Tony Howey Horticulture NZ (Chair)  tony@viberi.co.nz  021 318 441
John Murphy Vegetables NZ / HortNZ  john@garlic.co.nz  027 458 4670
Allen Lim Grower   allen@jadegarden.co.nz  027 282 8567
Malcolm Pook Grower   pook@xtra.co.nz  027 490 7568
Gary Bennetts Grower   teviot@xtra.co.nz  027 220 6081
Mathew Bannister Non-Grower  mathew.bannister@firstfresh.co.nz  021 222 0393
Sue Wheeler Independent  sue.wheeler@countdown.co.nz  027 531 8709

The Committee is made up of:

  • Two positions appointed by HortNZ (one grower and one nominated Vegetables NZ),
  • Four positions nominated and elected by members (at least three growers), and
  • One independent position (recommended by the Committee and appointed by HortNZ)  

Industry Members

The following product groups are also foundation members of NZGAP:

  • Avocados NZ         
  • Citrus NZ
  • Kiwifruit (NZKGI)
  • Nashi
  • NZ Asparagus Council
  • NZ Feijoa Growers Association
  • Onions NZ
  • Passionfruit
  • Persimmons
  • Pipfruit NZ
  • Potatoes NZ
  • Summerfruit NZ
  • Tamarillos Growers Association
  • Tomatoes NZ
  • Vegetables NZ 

Associate members

NZGAP Associate Membership is for growers/organisations that are engaged with the NZ Horticulture industry and wish to demonstrate their support for the objectives of the NZGAP programme.